Skip To Main Content

National Junior Honor Society

Character. Citizenship. Scholarship. Service. Leadership


NJHS is the nation’s premier organization established to recognize outstanding middle level students. Our goal is to encourage an enthusiasm for learning; to serve our community and school; to promote leadership; to encourage responsible citizenship; and to develop character in the students of HMS


Membership decisions are made by the NJHS Faculty Council, a group of five teachers who are chosen by the principal and based on an accumulation of data provided by the school, teachers, and the applicants. To be considered for membership, a student must:

  • earn a cumulative GPA of at least 3.3
  • complete the candidate form and turn it in by the deadline posted (February 8, 2023 by 3:30PM)
  • receive positive recommendations from current teachers
  • have been a student at HMS for at least one semester

The faculty council judges Candidates based on four main criteria based on the pillars of National Junior Honor Society: Service, Leadership, Character, and Citizenship. The council will use the candidate form and teacher recommendations to then decide which candidates will become members. Candidates must receive a majority vote to be chosen as a member.

Candidate Form (Only complete if you received an invitation):

Expectations of Members:

Students must

  • follow all school rules - including avoiding plagiarism/cheating
  • attend 2 meetings per marking period IF they are not in the elective class
  • log 4 service hours per marking period
  • maintain a 3.3 GPA during their time in NJHS
  • attend and participate in chapter events and fundraisers

*Failure to meet these requirements could lead to probation and then a meeting with the faculty council. 

2022-2023 Officers:

President - Addison Johnson

Vice President - Braeden Perkin

Secretary - Kendall Erb

Service Chair - Pyper Folks

PR Chair - Keeley Acrey

NJHS Outstanding Achievement Award:

Applications are open January 16, 2023 and are due March 29, 2023

Past Recipients: 

Mason Kolter (2020-2021)

Dylan Leps (2019-2020)

For more information, please contact Myra Cowart at .

There are no resources or collections to display