Huffman Middle School

Skip to main content
Welcome to the Huffman Middle School site!

National Junior Honor Society (NJHS)

Go to the following link for the form for Guess Who: HMS Teacher Edition -



Character. Citizenship. Scholarship. Service. Leadership




NJHS is the nation’s premier organization established to recognize outstanding middle level students. Our goal is to encourage an enthusiasm for learning; to serve our community and school; to promote leadership; to encourage responsible citizenship; and to develop character in the students of HMS





Membership decisions are made by the NJHS Faculty Council, a group of five teachers who are chosen by the principal and based on an accumulation of data provided by the school, teachers, and the applicants. To be considered for membership, a student must:


  • earn a cumulative GPA of at least 3.3
  • complete the candidate form and turn it in by the deadline posted (February 4, 2022 by 3:30PM)
  • receive positive recommendations from current teachers
  • have been a student at HMS for at least one semester

The faculty council judges Candidates based on four main criteria based on the pillars of National Junior Honor Society: Service, Leadership, Character, and Citizenship. The council will use the candidate form and teacher recommendations to then decide which candidates will become members. Candidates must receive a majority vote to be chosen as a member.


Candidate Form (Only complete if you received an invitation): 

Expectations of Members:
Students must
  • follow all school rules - including avoiding plagiarism/cheating
  • attend 2 meetings per marking period IF they are not in the elective class
  • log 4 service hours per marking period
  • maintain a 3.3 GPA during their time in NJHS
  • attend and participate in chapter events and fundraisers
*Failure to meet these requirements could lead to probation and then a meeting with the faculty council. 
2021-2022 Officers:
President - Jordyn Folks
Vice President - Zachary Casas
Secretary - Heidi Shrader
Service Chair - Hayley Briggs
PR Chair - Luke Werner
NJHS Outstanding Achievement Award:
Applications are open January 12, 2022 and are due March 16, 2022
Past Recipients: 
Mason Kolter (2020-2021)
Dylan Leps (2019-2020)
For more information, please contact Myra Cowart at .